The Use of Iodine for Thyroid Protection

……….during a high radiation fallout event

Right after the massive earthquake and tsunami hit Japan last month it became apparent that the threat of global radiation fallout could become imminent, even here in America. Cesium 131 from the damaged reactor is present in the atmosphere and it has been drifting westward.  Higher than normal radiation levels have been evident in rain fall, even on the East Coast of the US.  Cesium 131 is now being found in the grass and lawns in the US. The grass is then eaten by cows, goats, etc and is now entering the food chain. Radioactive milk is present today in Vermont .  It has also been found in 5/6 foods in Northern California, including strawberries, mushrooms and spinach.

During a radioactive fallout event, protection of the thyroid is imperative. The thyroid absorbs radiation readily and affects the function of the thyroid gland. Iodine protects the thyroid. Potassium Iodine is just the thing needed to protect the thyroid. Many have figured out they had to have it to prevent thyroid dysfunction.  Potassium Iodide (K.I.) tablets are selling off the shelves and have quickly become NOT available. I have seen K.I. available on E-bay at 1000 times the original cost.  I sent out a brief note to my readers not to be too concerned about having available nascent Iodine for internal consumption. I also mentioned that tinctured iodine, Provadone Iodine, or even Betadine Iodine would work if used transdermally. Tinctured Iodine must NOT be taken internally. It is toxic and cannot be converted systemically to meet the thyroid’s needs. However, Tinctured Iodine can be absorbed transdermally through the tissues. In fact, Iodine is readily absorbed through the skin. The body knows how much Iodine it needs and will accept only what it needs.

I occasionally use an iodine test to determine if my thyroid is needful of more iodine by painting an Iodine patch on the inside of my elbow. Then I time the absorption. If most of the iodine is absorbed into the skin within 30 -40 minutes. I know I’m deficient. If the iodine is still apparent after an hour I know the thyroid is okay and does not need any additional.

If a high radiation event is taking place, the time to protect the thyroid is immediate. Do not wait until after the event has occurred. The thyroid will suffer radiation effects very quickly.

If you suspect high levels of radiation are present, paint a 2 X 4 inch patch of Iodine on the inside of your elbow and time the absorption response. Monitor the radiation levels in your area by having a “Dosimeter,” Geiger counter (yes, they are available for civilian use), or listen to the news or internet alerts.  Continue to apply a patch of Iodine daily. You may opt to use an alternative site when applying a daily transdermal dose. The opposite elbow is available. You can also use the soles of your feet, the area behind each knee and of course right across the front of your belly is an option.

Also note that the US Gov’t, through the FDA and the DEA have made the acquisition of 10% Iodine very difficult.  About 4 years ago the US Gov’t, through the DEA/FDA vey quietly banned the purchase of 10% iodine.  Retail outlets were allowed to sell their existing stocks. It is still available at some retail outlets but I have noticed the cost has gone up at least three fold. When it’s gone, it’s gone.

Black Walnuts

 

Iodine is present in other biologic forms but requires extraction. Black Walnut hulls have high amounts of Iodine, as well as Irish Moss.

Brown Kelp and Bladderwrack seaweed from the ocean are also sources of Iodine.

Bladderwrack floating along the shore

 

 

 

 

 

 

The idodine can be extracted from these through the tincturing process using alcohol/ vodka/ brandy or even ACV as a solvent. The tincture can be used on the skin as you would the topical Iodine/ Betadine/ Povodone solutions.

If you have any questions, write to me at: belfire@live.com or leave a comment below.

The TinMan

There are others urging this method as a viable option during a dangerous radioactive event. For more info refer to Donna Rae’s excellent article in “Natural News”

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Health & Wellbeing, Herbal Wisdom

6 responses to “The Use of Iodine for Thyroid Protection

  1. I had heard that some “nuts” had iodine in them, but never knew about Irish Moss?! Does the iodine factor in foods ever decrease or do it stay the same?

  2. saintpio1

    I heard that Kelp would protect against radiation. It is high in iodine.

    • Tin Man

      Yes it is. I use Kelp as one of the ingredients in my iodine/ thyroid remedy… the others being Bladderwrack (another type of seaweed), Irish Moss, Siberian Ginseng (Eleuthro) and kelp..
      All very helpful to normalize thyroid function and radiation protection…

  3. hi…..am on armor thyroid 1.5 gr a day..by naturopath; have been taking kelp…good source. One night a week ago I eyed my iodine tincture and felt to paint some on…..I was misinformed about timing, but remember in the past,iputting it on and by morning, it would sitll be there. this time? painted it on four nights in a row, took it all…..I will move to watching the 30-40 mins you recommend, but am really really curious about this….I have the “plum pit ” feeling in my throat…..I’ve seen immediate positive response, esp. bowels have opened up..a good thing. but don’t want to overdo, but then guess the body knows, no? any ideas? thanks….Mimi

    • Tin Man

      Hi Mimi, Everyone is different with different needs. ‘The timing’ was what was working for me. My body seemed to know how much it could absorb and when it wasn’t absorbing anymore through the skin it was obvious, as the iodine staining remained prevalent. It would absorb at a much lower rate. Although it took years, please note that my Thyroid eventually failed completely and I produce no thyroid hormone at all now. I ended up on Levothyroxine after years of trying to maintain a natural level of balance. My thyroid just doesn’t work anymore. I also noticed one time when I changed pharmacy’s that the generic version of my levothyroxin appeared not to be working. I becme symptomatic of acute hypothyroidism. I had to supplement with transdermal applications of iodine until I could get a new prescription and a change from another pharmacy. I also was taking a tinctured Kelp, Bladderwrack, Irish Moss and Eleuthro tincture, twice daily. It helped tremendously during the time I was taking the inferior Levothyroxin , but still even that was not enough to correct the problem. Once I changed Pharmacy’s and went back to the original Levo, I was okay again and blood levels returned to normal

      > Date: Tue, 28 Aug 2012 01:10:28 +0000 > To: tinmaniswise@live.com >

  4. denise d. hopeman

    so, my husband was on levothyroxin for a year and a half and went off of it when he ran out and didn’t refill the rx. now we are trying to eat a raw diet
    and treat it by healthy diet and kelp and other supplements. we are trying the iodine patch test tonight. i don’t want to discourage his using the rx meds if he needs them. we have read that if you have used the synthyroids
    that you will always have to use them. is it too late to use natural remedies?
    at what point did you start seeing that you had to use the rx drugs and that
    the natural remedies where not enough. what are symptoms that occur. currently he just seems to have low sex drive, he’s never been very expressive which appears to me as depression but may not be, a little moody but not terrible? the medical doc said his tsh was 5.49 just recently.
    any thoughts or recommendations? we are doing alot of juicing. :)

Leave a Reply

