Growing sprouts for good nutrition

I have been growing my own sprouts for many years.  I use fresh sprouts basically as a substitute for lettuce in salads because I have trouble swallowing, especially lettuce, due to my throat surgery. Sprouts provide tastier, more flavorful variations on traditional fare and absolutely outshine lettuce nutritionally.  Sprouts are up to 600 times more vitamin and mineral packed than even the mature vegetables they represent.  Talk about all the vitamins one needs in a luncheon, or snack!

Sprouts are easy to grow and they are a fun conversation starter when company stops by. I grow mine in mason jars which I keep in a wine rack in the dining room. When asked about the mason jars in the “wine rack” I say it’s my indoor garden.  I’ll often have as many as six different varieties growing, in various stages, at the same time. Sprouting an indoor garden is easy to do. The kids can do it. (A healthful idea for a child’s science fair project could be a wine rack full of delicious sprouts and a nutritional comparison chart).

A bunch of tiny seeds take little storage space in a cabinet or drawer. I buy my seeds from different outlets, Spices Etc.com, Herbalcom.com, even the local grocery store sells lentils, peas and beans. They are all sproutable.  However, I do suggest you try to buy organic seeds for purity and quality.  It seems also that organic seeds have a higher germination rate. When sprouting organically, you will notice less empty hulls in the jar when rinsing.

Once my seeds arrive, I transfer the seeds to glass jars with sealable lids. They store nicely in my herbal cabinet, I have quick access and I am reminded daily to keep some sprouting seeds ongoing for continued use. The seeds will keep for years stored this way.

Sprouts provide perfectly healthy, inexpensive nutrition, especially when times are tough. They are perfect as a ‘survival’ food as they take up little space when growing and take little time to grow, (as little as 48 – 72 hours for most). Beans and larger seeds such as Lima and Fava take a bit longer.

Steps to Creating Sprouts in Your Own Kitchen

If you would like to try sprouting, assuming you have some sprouting seeds, such as a bag of lentils or whole peas in your kitchen, start by taking a clean jar, wide mouth mason jars work best because of the ring and lid, although any large mayonnaise type jar will work. You will not need the mason jar lid part, just the ring.

Several Jars ready for sprouting

Next, cut a 5 inch square of cheese cloth or other “gauzy” material to fit over the opening of the jar. Even a 4 inch surgical gauze pad works nicely.

Jar ready with black eyed peas and cheese cloth covering

 

Then add approximately 1 TBSP of the selected seeds in the bottom of the jar. (Yes, you can even make up blends of varieties of seeds in one jar).

Next step is to cover the seeds with enough water for a good soaking.

Cover the jar opening with the cheese cloth and place the ring from the mason jar over the opening to attach the cheese cloth as a screen covering over the opening of the jar.

Now don’t be impatient, let the seeds soak for 8 hours in an upright position, (overnight is best).

 

 

After a good soaking, don’t open the jar,  just empty the water by straining the seeds through the attached cloth.  Try to rotate the jar as you pour the water out as to leave the wet seeds clinging to the sides of the jar. This gives them room to “grow”.

Radish seeds clinging to the jar

Lastly, let the jar rest in a horizontal position on its side to let the seeds absorb the residual moisture in the jar. This maximizes the growing space inside the jar. (This is where the wine rack comes in handy).  The cheese cloth allows the living seeds to breathe.

The seeds have to be watered at least once a day. Water them by filling the jar through the cheese cloth and swirling the jar gently to ensure a good soaking. Then strain the water off again, leaving the seeds coating the sides of the jar as in the above picture. (I also like to use the rinse water to water any other house plants you have nearby).  Place the jar again on its side or back in the wine rack.

Seed radicle

By the second day you will notice the sprout developing as the ‘radicle’ starts to split the seed and protrude. This is where all the concentrated nutrition lies.  The radicle is the first part of a seedling (a growing plant embryo) to emerge from the seed during the process of germination.

Continue this procedure daily until the desired length of the sprout is presenting itself. (Yes, you may reach inside the jar and remove a pinch to taste as the seeds are developing into sprouts).

 

My favorite seeds to sprout are Lentils, for their flavor and vitamin quality, thick fleshy almost meaty consistency. I like Radishes for their hot spicy flavor and Cabbage seeds for their mild flavor and great nutrition.

Get creative in using sprouts. I use them in omelets, stir fry’s, and on sandwiches, (my favorite is a tomato/ lentil and radish sprouts and cucumber sandwich). Just enjoy the results. Happy sprouting!

The TinMan

**   A really great article on sprouting by Sherry Ackerman in Natural News

*** For a good source of sprout seeds and additional info on alternative methods of sprouting and sprouting paraphernalia, go to www.sproutpeople.org

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Health & Wellbeing

10 responses to “Growing sprouts for good nutrition

  1. Rod,
    I believe this is the first time I’ve ever witness how sprouting takes place. What a great idea with the mason jars. What is the success rate for growing your own sprouts? Do you ever notice the sprouts getting “moldy” at any time?

    Thanks again Rod!
    Bella

    • Tin Man

      Bella,
      Sprouting is so easy to do. there are different methods like tray sprouting with damp paper towels under and on top of the seeds until germination. I just find the mason jar easy to use and using a wine rack to acomodate the jars it really takes little space.
      Germination rate really depends on the seeds, what type they are, how old they are, even temperature can come into play. If you use quality, preferably organic seeds, you should be looking at 85 -95 % success rate.
      The only time I experienced mold was when I was sprouting beans. Beans take longer and I kept them too wet for too long. I also was living in Florida where it’s very humid. But mold generally isn’t a problem. after the sprouts reach your desired length (2-3 inches) they keep in the fridge for up to 2 weeks, Lentils will keep a long time. Alfalfa will wilt and mold after 10 days or so.
      Give it a try and experiment a little. Don’t be afraid to try to sprout anything.
      Happy sprouting

  2. Janie

    Love the blog and your info! Already got the lentils hidden in my grandsons sandwiches, he has no clue. I can wait to work with a sampler pack I ordered! Of course I need all the help and pictures I can find to guide me, so thank you! Blessings and Peace, Janie

    • Tin Man

      Hi Janie, Glad you’re liking my blog site. Even more glad you’re liking sprouting. All I can say is, “Get creative”. Try them in soups, stir fry’s and omelets. (I’ve even sprouted wheat berries and put them in Susan’s bread dough for a sprouted wheat bread. You will be amazed at what you can sprout. I did Black eyed peas last week right from the grocery store bag. They were full, plump and nutty flavored. Lentils, cabbage and radish seeds are my favorite. Sprouts are all good inexpensive raw nutrition. (perfect survival food, no matter what were surviving). Great for eating well in a bad economy. Feel free to ask any questions. The TinMan

  3. candis

    I love your article and especially your pictures. Thank You So Much!
    I am looking for a comparison chart of the different spouts…..Can you help me?

    • Tin Man

      Dear Candis, Thank you , I’m glad you liked my article. I try to draw from experience in much of what I do and write about. For “anything” sprouts, I go to http://www.sproutpeople.org They are my “go to people for seeds, supplies and information. If you click on their site URL roll curser over the header bar to “Sprouts”, then follow the link to nutritional charts. They have some great info there. have fun sprouting but most of all enjoy the good nutrition. TinMan

  4. I’m definitely trying this!

  5. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate
    your efforts and I am waiting for your further post thank you
    once again.

  6. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague who has been conducting a
    little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me lunch
    simply because I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this….

    Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending
    the time to discuss this topic here on your
    web page.

  7. Quality content is the secret to be a focus for the users to go to see the website, that’s what this
    site is providing.

Leave a Reply

